Some Maybe Meaningful Gibberish

oceanfree.jpg

While I don’t remember this photo being taken, and that’s pretty sad, I’ve come to believe this is one of the best.

I always feel free when I can smell the saltwater…feel the sun on my skin, the sand on my feet. I feel free knowing that in this moment, I am warm, I am free, and that’s all I have to worry about.

I love walking along the shore, searching for broken pieces of seashells. Sometimes I find whole ones, and that’s nice…but the broken pieces are everywhere.

Ohhh look a metaphor 😛

We’re all broken. I don’t know a single person who is entirely “whole”. We all have something on our minds, something deep down that tears at us. Something we never said, something we never did…whether we can fix it or not, there’s always that something. It takes, in my opinion, many (many) years ans a lot of work to be okay with what didn’t, couldn’t, or wouldn’t happen. Or, in other cases, something that did happen that we didn’t want.

We’re all broken. We’ve all given pieces of ourselves away, hoping the other person will take care of them…take care of you.

Some don’t. Some take those pieces and break them further.

But some do. Some people take those pieces, and hug you closer. They’re genuine. They love you for those pieces, for the ones you still have, for the ones you’ve given away that you can only tell them about.

More to the point. I’m grateful for the people I have in my life right now. I’m grateful that I have been vulnerable with some people, and they haven’t turned away and run. I’m thankful that I got to spend tonight with someone I love, and who loves me for who I am today and who I was at any given point of my life.

I’m grateful for the other night at work. If you read my last post, I was upset that I didn’t get the chance to talk to someone when I felt I was at a low point. Something amazing happened not too long after I posted that. One of the people who yelled at me that night in the drive thru (I work at Starbucks) called the store and apologized for yelling at me. Who does that? He took the time to call, apologize profusely, tell my manager I did nothing wrong, and explain that he wanted to make it right.

I don’t know about anyone else in the customer service-type industry, but for me, that rarely happens. I actually don’t even think it’s happened before (to me).

I’m thankful for those of you who read and respond to my sometimes nonsensical vents and rambles. Thank you for sharing your time with me. That is an honor.

Who said Thanksgiving can’t be every day?

🙂 (Endramblenow)

-December 9, 2016

Leave a Reply

