Battle Field

The days turn into nights 

And the nights, into days

I begged down on my knees in tears

But that didn’t make you stay. 

I’m losing track of time now 

And it’s becoming hard to breathe

I’m living off of memories

But your love is what I need. 

I hate to see you walk away

It’s burned into my eyes

You promised that you wouldn’t go

Your absence proves the lies

I should be angry with you

I’m not; I don’t know how. 

I’m losing faith that I’ll be loved

I need a cure, and now

I wish that I could be the one

To fall asleep in your arms tonight 

Instead, I’ll hover in this life

Knowing I’ve given up the fight. 

-November 30, 2016

Leave a Reply

