Question #53

Question: Is it more important to be liked or to be respected?

Answer: I kind of feel these go hand in hand. There’s reason for both, too. If you’re in a professional world, you may value being respected over being liked. People respect that you have vast knowledge, or you’re really good at something. Being liked feels good though. If people don’t like me, I dwell on the question of “why”. I spend way too much time worrying that I could be doing something different. I begin to hate myself for my lack of whatever it might be that makes them not like me.

Both have good qualities. And you wouldn’t want to be liked because you’re doing something detrimental that people think is funny (but it’s actually hurting others). That kind of likeness doesn’t matter much. You wouldn’t want to be respected for the wrong reasons, either.

Hand in hand.

Leave a Reply

